top of page
  • Writer's pictureMercedes Collins

The “ultimate pitch” to the Extreme Catcher

Updated: Jul 9, 2020

“Therefore humble yourselves [demote, lower yourselves in your own estimation] under the mighty hand of God, that in due time He may exalt you, Casting the whole of your care [all your anxieties, all your worries, all your concerns, once and for all] on Him, for He cares for you affectionately and cares about you watchfully. [Ps. 55:22.]”

‭‭1 Peter‬ ‭5:6-7‬ ‭AMPC‬‬


 

 

I’ve recently started reading Joyce Meyer’s “Battlefield of the mind” and it is changing my life. My thoughts, emotions, and attitude have needed a major over haul for quite some time. Currently I’m on chapter 12 and I’m calling it the good stuff. Kind of like a cake if you will. The outside looks nice, the frosting tastes great, but it’s those inside layers that are the real “good stuff.” This chapter talks about giving our cares to the Lord, casting them upon Him (1Peter5:7). The dictionary definition of the word cast is to “throw (something) forcefully in a specified direction.” The Bible is telling us to literally throw our cares to God. But how often do we do that first, before we do anything else


 


 

The featured cup for today is all about praying and not waiting until we are in trouble to do it. I don’t know about you but I am guilty of that. I like control and I like to fix things my way. Sure I say I trust that the Lord God is sovereign. That He can take care of all things, but most of the time you can’t tell I believe that by my actions...

My husband is in the military. Currently we are living in two different places because of it. He’s there and I’m here and it’s going on a year now that we’ve been apart. The time has finally come for us to reunite and I tell you what, I was full force ahead when I got the news. I started rushing into things, and making decisions based off of urgency. I never really took the time to seek the Lord‘s will. Well it turns out His will is for us to wait a little longer, and that is a hard pill to swallow. I believe we take things into our own hands because we want OUR desired outcome. Not so much God‘s desire. Bless our little hearts!


 



 

We (yep, all of us) have got to be willing to give ALL of our cares to the Lord. To the Extreme catcher because He never drops the ball. He can and will take care of our every need and desire. We just have to be willing to let them go and cast them off, for Him to do it.

Pitch all that concerns you to the God who will always catch it.

Be blessed!

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page