top of page
  • Writer's pictureMercedes Collins

We are Better with Him.



I adore this mug! Gruene, Texas is such a beautiful town, and its also where my husband and I went for our honeymoon. Now this isn't a post to endorse this town, this is about Maddieville. That's the name of the town my daughter and I built, along with the finest highway you'll ever see lol. She and I had such a good time being creative and building. I'm talking about some good ole fun being had ok! After we built everything it was time for what we call independent play. Madison would rule Maddieville and play alone for a little while. Well, she wasn't interested in playing with the town at all. It seemed her books were way more fun. Once that happened something inside me was so offended (basically pride). Like how dare this little human not want to play with something so magnificent, that WE built for HER.


Once I got over myself, I realized it wasn't about me or even the town for that matter. It was about Madison enjoying her time with her Mommy (me). Yes, the town came out great but it was the building of it, the quality time, we spent together that did it for her. It was us doing something together that brought her joy.





After receiving that realization in my spirit I began to think about my relationship with Christ Jesus. When I am connected with Him my days are just Better. John 15:5 says "I Am the vine, you are the branches. He who abides in Me, and I in him, bears much fruit; for without Me you can do nothing." Reading His word (the bible), Having Praise & Worship, Bible study lessons, and Fellowshipping with His children. All those things (and more) allow me to experience peace, joy, comfort, and safety... Everything that God is... far better than I could on my own. Alone I am nothing and can do nothing. Alone I may find temporary happiness, but not everlasting joy. Together with Christ I can do whatever and be whoever He is calling me to be. With Christ I am Better.




"May you experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully. Then you will be made complete with all the life and power that comes from God."


Epeshians 3;19 NLT

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page